top of page

10 Ways to Reflect this Easter Season

Hello Everyone & Happy Friday!

I hope you have all had an amazing week & are excited for the weekend.

Given the fact that this weekend is the fourth Sunday of Lent, and that we are now about halfway to Easter Sunday, I thought it would be a good time to discuss some great ways to reflect during this Holy & special time of the year!

The Easter & Lenten season are all about not only reflecting on the choices you have been making, but it is also a time of sacrifice & giving back.

You know when Christmas time starts to roll around (aka my favorite time of the entire year) and everyone starts to feel all warm & fuzzy and starts acting just a little bit nicer to everyone they meet? – well, this type of attitude is exactly what Lent & Easter are all about.

I, personally, have always used Lent as a time to reflect on the choices I have been making in my life: Have I been as kind as I can to others? Have I done my best not to pass judgement on others? Have I been doing my part to give back to my community & to help those who are less fortunate than I am?

I hate to say it – but most of the time, the answer to all of these questions is no.

As hard as I try to be better at these things, I always seem to fall back into old habits which is actually normal, because as human beings it's impossible for us to be perfect. Lent & Easter is our time to recognize our faults & difficulties that we have been facing & try to make them better.

We also can’t forget the most important part: Even though every day is a great opportunity to grow your relationship with God, the season of Lent & Easter is truly a perfect time to really get in tune with your faith.

Over the years I have constantly tried to think of different ways I can give back & make the change.

In the hopes of not only helping myself but giving other people ideas on how to make the change this year:

Here is a list of 10 Ways to Reflect this Easter Season!

1. Pray

Seems obvious right? Not always.It is so important to find time in your day to take a moment away from all of the noise and bustle and to find a quiet space to reflect and pray: Just you & the Man upstairs.

The most common excuse in the book is “Oh, I want to, but I just never have the time.” You can’t sit there and tell me that in every 24 hours of each day that you are given, you just can’t seem to set aside 5-10 minutes to quietly pray? If you have time to scroll through social media, then you have time to pray – the only difference is whether or not you want to pray, and that’s a choice that you alone need to make.

2. Give Back

Whether it be in the form of donating clothes, volunteering, or even paying it forward, always try to find ways to give back. Giving back is as easy as raiding your closet for clothes you’ve barely worn or paying for the person’s meal order behind you in line. It’s the generous thoughts & actions that count.

3. Pause to Breathe

In a world where everything seems to be so stressful and hectic it’s important to take a moment to just take a deep breathe and pause. When everything seems to be moving a mile a minute it is always worth stepping on the breaks and taking a detour for your own sanity and health. Make sure to prioritize your health: physically, emotionally & mentally.

4. Think a Positive Thought At least Two Times a Day

Sometimes when we get stressed or in a slump (especially at this time of the year when the seasonal depression is so real) it gets very hard to focus on the positive points in your day. Make it a priority to think at least two positive thoughts a day – try to think of one as soon as you get up and right before you go to bed so you can begin and end your day on a positive note!

5. Read the Bible

If you read my last blog post about Owlcrate (super cool, make sure to check it out if you haven’t yet!) then you know that I am a total bookworm – and when it comes to the Bible, it’s for sure one of my favorite books! Sometimes it’s hard to commit to sitting down and reading a good old-fashioned ink and paper book, but with modern technology you don’t even have to!

I recently downloaded the Bible App to my phone & it was one of the best decisions I’ve made. It alerts you every morning with the verse of the day and you can always pick up reading right where you left off. I have made it a goal to read it every night before going to bed & that alone has been one of the best changes I have made so far!

6. One Random Act of Kindness a Day

This one relates a lot to #2. The difference being that for point number 2 you could do only once, but for this one, you should try to do it daily! A random act of kindness can be something as big as paying for a family’s meal or as small as a good-natured compliment! The smallest actions can cause the biggest waves, and this is so important to remember.

7. Spend Quality time with Family & Friends

Make sure to prioritize time with your loved ones. Whether you see each other every day or only once in a while, try to connect more on a conversational level and show them how much you mean to them. Be it in person or by facetime, put in that effort.

8. Make one big change & commit to it

This list thus far has been primarily about small changes or temporary acts; however, make sure to choose one big aspect of your life that you have been wanting to change but have never taken the time to think it through and act upon it. Do what you have to do to live your happiest and most authentic life.

9. Say I Love You on a Daily Basis

Make saying I love you a habit, because it is an important one to have. We can show others how much we love them, but it is also important to tell them as a reminder (lest they ever forget.) Make it a point to say I love you to your parents, your grandparents and whoever else in your life. Times are unpredictable & an extra I Love You never hurts.

10. Give Thanks Every Minute of Every Day

Take a step back and realize how much you truly have to be thankful for – something you could be complaining about is something someone could be praying for. For example, you can complain about the fact that it’s raining outside when someone in this world could be living in a drought and praying for that rain. Always remember to give thanks, it will humble you.

If you are still reading this, I hope that you were able to take something away from my list! If you have any (polite or kind) thoughts you would like to share, I would love to hear from you in the comments below!

Also, if you want to check out a fun & interactive Bible that I really like click this link!

Don’t forget to follow me on social media to keep up with my daily antics!

@dressedinblessings (click to follow!)

bottom of page