top of page

Back to School Basics

It's that time of the year again everyone: Back to School!

While some of you might be excited and others might be moaning and groaning in disapproval, there is one thing we can all agree on: when it comes the time to head back to school, it's always important to be prepared!

So I thought, now that I'm a college graduate and have made it through my years of higher education, why not impart any of the wisdom I might have to offer with my awesome followers!

Here are my top 10 must have items for Back to School!

1. A great backpack

As a college commuter I learned that one item (besides a car of course) was, above all, an ultimate essential: a great backpack.

What I started college with was what I thought was a great backpack: it was pretty & colorful & quilted...but that was about it. It had barely any pockets, it wasn't waterproof & it wasn't very durable either!

So I decided to make the switch to a Swiss Gear backpack and it was the best decision I ever made! This backpack was so durable and had a great slot safe enough to store your laptop or tablet!

The best part of this backpack? The pockets...alllll of the pockets. There was so much storage in this backpack and it was truly a lifesaver.

Click Here for my Swiss Gear Backpack!

2. A Durable Jacket

Having attended college in New England, I can attest to the fact that a jacket is so important to have on hand at all times. In New England or not, the weather is truly unpredictable and it's always good to have lightweight, durable coat on hand! One of my favorite pick's for this Fall/Winter season is this super cute camo utility jacket from Target. This coat is fashion forward but durable enough to keep you warm and handle most any weather!

Click Here for my Camo Jacket!

3. A Great Laptop & a durable Laptop Sleeve

As a design student in college, there is one computer that I will always advocate for: Apple MacBooks. Whether it be the air or the pro, these computers are lightweight, have a fantastic amount of storage and are ridiculously user friendly. If you are looking for a college investment piece (other than college itself) this is a great place to start.

Click Here for the Mac I use!

Along with a new computer, it's also very important to have a good laptop case to protect your new beauty! I love my laptop case because, not only is it super cute but it is very well padded and I have peace of mine that my computer is well protected.

Click Here for my Laptop Case!

4. Notebooks

This does seem like the obvious choice but most people don't know that there are good and bad notebooks when it comes to school!

Truly, picking the perfect notebook dwindles down to your preference: Do you prefer to have all of your subjects in one notebook? All of them separate? Do you prefer college ruled?

Whatever your preference may be, there is one notebook brand that always seems to hit the mark: Moleskine. These notebooks are durable and of great quality with a classy and elegant look.

Click Here for my go to Moleskine notebook

5. Ball Cap

Whether your having a bad hair day or you have a sensitive scalp, it's never a bad idea to have a ball cap on hand! Whether it be at home, in your car or in your trendy new (yet functional) backpack, you will be thanking yourself late for throwing a ball cap in your bag!

Click Here for my favorite ball cap (perfect for any season!)

6. USB Drive(s)

If there is one thing I learned in school this is it: ALWAYS back up your files. Even if you think you have all of your files, back them up anyway.

The best way to back up those files? USB drives! They are small & super convenient to carry around (some of them are even available as keychains!)

While some might say that the USB drive is becoming obsolete, I must beg to differ. I could never have imagined not knowing that my files were safely backed up and in the palm of my hand.

Click Here for my favorite USB/Flash Drives!

7. Sunglasses & Headphones

If you are attending a school with a large campus, then you will definitely back me up on these two must-have items. Any day that I forgot my sunglasses was a bad day. Constantly having to squint and navigate crowds of people walking around campus was never fun.

Lesson learned: Never ever forget your sunglasses! Any pair works, from any store. Protect those pretty eyes of yours and make walking through campus much more tolerable at the same time!

I cannot stress this enough, headphones are an absolute must have!

Whether you use them to listen to music, take a call or simply to just tune out the world, you will be so thankful to have them! Any pair of headphones will do, just make sure to always remember them! Any day that I forgot my headphones AND sunglasses just was not a good day haha!

Click Here for my favorite pair of headphones!

8. Reusable Water Bottle/Tumbler

Many campuses now have purified water stations, so it only makes sense to grab a reusable water bottle. Not only are they incredibly convenient but they are also a best friend to our environment.

They come in pretty colors and designs (so there is no way you will be mixing up your beverage with a classmates) and it allows you to carry more of your drink of preference.

My favorite tumbler of all time is the Yeti Rambler! I swear by my Yeti to anyone willing to listen. Here is my testimonial: I filled this rambler halfway with ice on Sunday morning and come Monday evening the ice was STILL SOLID. Coming from someone who is a constant culprit of traveling anywhere and everywhere with my water bottle, this rambler will keep your drink super cold (or hot) all day and night.

Click Here for my highly recommended rambler!

9. Lotion/Hand Sanitizer

This one seems a bit more "off the beaten path" but just trust me here: having lotion, hand sanitizer (or both) in your bag will really help you out. It seems like such a small detail, but small details are often the best details.

These items aren't so much a necessity, but definitely a luxury. I loved having them on hand, and sometimes they make for great conversation starters & new friends! Sharing is caring right? :)

Click Here for my Favorite Moisturizer!

10. Koozie

A funny word for an incredibly useful product!

Koozies are so affordable and so very worth it! Not only will these little guys prevent your cold drinks from creating their own swimming pools on your desk, but they are also environmentally friendly!

Also, if you're like me and still prefer your coffee to be iced in the winter time, koozies will be the life saver of your sweet and delicate hands!

Click Here for one of my favorite Koozies!

I hope this list of Back to School must have's helps to prep you for your first weeks back on campus! It's time to get excited, get ready & get after those goals everyone! :)

Have any recommendations you would like to add? Comment below & let me know!

Don't forget to follow along with me on my Instagram page @dressedinblessings! Click Here to join in the fun!

As always thank you for reading & following along! <3

bottom of page